To mark the historic anniversary of the Cuban Missile Crisis, local author and educator Jake Henderson has made his recently published books, “Ryan’s Crossing” and “Radio Road” available for download for those with Kindle devices.

Ryan's Crossing

Ryan’s Crossing by Jake Henderson

 In the fall of 1962, Danny Stone is living the life of a normal American teenager. Baseball, TV westerns, homework, and avoiding chores are his biggest concerns until a chance discovery on a school field trip sparks his interest in the local legend of Ryan’s Crossing. Danny instantly becomes infatuated with the tales of tragedy, death, and unsettled spirits the bridge has to offer. As Danny and his friends begin unraveling the true story of Ryan’s Crossing, the world around them plunges into chaos when it is discovered that the Soviet Union has been placing ballistic missiles in Cuba. The safety and innocence of their childhoods are swept away, replaced by the threat of nuclear Armageddon. With the certainty of their futures in doubt, Danny’s interest in Ryan’s Crossing becomes potentially lethal as they realize the gravest dangers lie much closer to home…

Amazon Kindle version of “Ryan’s Crossing.”


Radio Road

Radio Road by Jake Henderson

Marshall Maddox has just moved to Radio Road—and it sure is different than where he came from… While Marshall attempts to make friends and adjust to a new life, it is announced that there will be a community-wide carnival on Halloween night! With the event only a few weeks away, Marshall and his classmates set out to win the grand prize. As Halloween and the much-anticipated carnival approaches, Marshall experiences the holiday in a way he never has before. Jack o’ lanterns, costumes, and trick-or-treating are just some of the fun things Marshall discovers as he overcomes unanticipated obstacles and learns to embrace the spirit of the season.

Radio Road by Jake Henderson (Kindle Version)